The Fourth Pillar – Ramadan

Ramadan is the ninth month of the Hijri calendar of Islam, which follows the lunar cycle. It begins with the sighting of the new moon, which reveals the end of the precedent month of Shabaan and the beginning of the new month of Ramadan. After the sighting, abstaining from drinking and eating and physical continence is obligatory every day between dawn and sunset.

In Conclusion

In this day and age many have some knowledge about the religion of Islam, and the month when Muslims refrain from drinking and eating during the day then celebrate by night (mostly with binge-eating). However, this special month doesn’t only have that outward appearance, but entails a much deeper personal worship in which devotees seek a better understanding of God.

Islam is a religion of mercy and submission in every aspect of human life to the One and Only Creator of the universe. The word itself literally translates into submission. Faithful Muslims therefore submit wholeheartedly to the will of God and adhere to the principles given to them by Him through his messenger Mohammad (peace be upon him).

To practice their faith, Muslims must accept the five essential obligations Islam requires, called the Pillars of Islam. The first is the witness of faith (Shahada), the second is the devotional…

View original post 898 more words


Welcome to my blog! This is where I'll hope to inspire you with my reflections about life, culture and food.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.